You are here

UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity-Related Research (T32HL105349)

TRAINEES

Third Year

  • Valene Garr Barry, MS (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity-Related Research
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: vgarr@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Barbara Gower PhD; Co-Mentors: Courtney Peterson PhD, Olivia Affuso PhD, and Paula Chandler- Laney, PhD
  • Christian E. Behrens Jr., MS. RD. CSCS (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity-Related Research
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: behrensc@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Jose Fernandez, PhD, Co-Mentors: Gordon Fisher, PhD, and Brenda Bertrand, PhD
  • Makenzie Louise Callahan, MS, RDN (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity-Related Research
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    1720 Second Avenue South
    Birmingham, AL 35294
    E-mail: mlc17@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Dr. Timothy Garvey; Co-Mentors: Dr. Paula Chandler-Laney and Dr. Jose Fernandez

Second Year

  • Brenda Jeng (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity-Related Research
    Rehabilitation Science
    School of Health Professions Building, 360
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    Office: 205-975-9321
    E-mail: bjeng@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Robert W. Motl, PhD; Co-Mentors: Laura Q. Rogers, MD, MPH & James H. Rimmer, PhD
  • Thomas Hoover (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity Related Research
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    1675 University Blvd, Webb 515
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    Email: thoover1@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Laura Rogers, MD, PhD; Co-Mentors: Daniel Smith, PhD., Ceren Yarar-Fisher, PhD., & David Redden, PhD
  • Shelly R Nason (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity-Related Research
    Department of Medicine
    Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: shnason@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Julie Locher, PhD; Co-Mentors: Kirk Habegger, PhD and Jose Fernandez, PhD
  • Sarah Tucker (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: stucker5@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Barbara Gower, PhD; Co-Mentors: Jose Fernandez, PhD and Amy Goss, PhD

First Year

  • Catherine Couch (Katie) (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: kcouch1@uab.edu
    • Mentors: Barbara Gower, PhD; Co-Mentors: Kevin Fontaine, PhD, and Suzanne Judd, PhD
  • Aston Dommel, RD, MS (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: adommel@uab.edu
    • Mentors: James O. Hill, PhD; Co-Mentors: Jose Fernandez, PhD, Drew Sayer, PhD, and Irfan Asif, MD
  • Jason Floyd (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB School of Nursing
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: jfloyd1@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Maria B. Grant, M.D.; Co-Mentors: Bradley K. Yoder, Ph.D., Monica L. Baskin, Ph.D., Karen L. Gamble, Ph.D.
  • Cody Hanick, MS (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity Related Research
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    1675 University Blvd
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: chanick@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Gareth Dutton, PhD; Co-mentors: Courtney Peterson, PhD, and Jose Fernandez, PhD
  • Maggie Jerome (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB Pre-Doctoral Training in Obesity Related Research
    Department of Nutrition Sciences
    1675 University Blvd
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: mljerome@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Dr. Paula Chandler-Laney; Co-Mentors: Dr. Ariel Salas and Dr. Jose Fernandez
  • Shameka Rodgers, MSN, CRNP, FNP-C (Full Biography)
    Pre-doctoral Fellow
    UAB School of Nursing
    University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294
    E-mail: shameka1@uab.edu
    • Primary Mentor: Olivia Affuso, PhD; Co-mentors: Marti Rice, PhD, Paula Chandler-Laney PhD, and Dr. Peng Li, PhD


Past Pre-Doctoral Trainees: